Sportsnet Secures Exclusive Canadian Multiplatform Rights to IZOD IndyCar Series; Announces 2013 Broadcast Schedule

– New five-year multiplatform agreement includes rights to a minimum of 16 races per season, including Indianapolis 500, Honda Indy Toronto and rights to the Firestone Indy Lights

– Canadian and former Champ Car champion Paul Tracy joins Sportsnet’s broadcast team –

– Broadcast season begins with Honda Grand Prix of St. Petersburg on March 24 –

– Multiplatform deal includes rights for television, online and mobile

 

TORONTO (February 26, 2013) Fans, start your engines. Sportsnet today announced it has secured a five-year agreement for the exclusive Canadian multiplatform rights to the IZOD IndyCar Series as well as rights to the Firestone Indy Lights. The new agreement, which begins in 2013 and runs through to 2017, includes a minimum of 16 races each season, including the Indianapolis 500, which will be delivered to Canadians through a suite of multimedia platforms – television, online and mobile.  

With coverage on five Sportsnet channels, six City channels and live streaming available for Rogers wireless and cable television customers via RogersAnyplaceTV.com and Rogers Anyplace TV Live mobile app, Sportsnet will deliver more than 100 hours of racing coverage in 2013 across television, online and mobile.

The IZOD IndyCar Series is one of the premiere series in auto racing,” said Navaid Mansuri, Vice-President of Finance & Sports Programming, Rogers Broadcasting. “We are thrilled to partner with INDYCAR for the exclusive Canadian rights for this series and to deliver coverage of these events to Canadian auto racing fans like they’ve never seen. This agreement bolsters Sportsnet’s diverse portfolio of premium sports assets, content and championship events, as well as furthers Rogers’ and Sportsnet’s commitment to investing in sports to drive future growth.”

 

Sportsnet today also unveiled its 2013 IZOD IndyCar Series broadcast schedule and announced that Canadian and former Champ Car champion Paul Tracy will join the Sportsnet broadcast team as an IndyCar analyst. The Scarborough, ON native, who retired from the auto circuit in 2004, was the youngest Canadian Formula Ford champion in history at age 16 and won five races in his first full year of Champ Car competition in 1993. He has competed in CART, the Champ Car World Series and the IndyCar Series.

Sportsnet’s IndyCar panel will provide pre-race, in-race and post-race coverage for the Honda Grand Prix of St. Petersburg, the Indianapolis 500 and the Honda Indy in Toronto. Tracy will work alongside seasoned analyst and Canadian Motorsport Hall of Famer Bill Adam, pit reporter Todd Lewis and Sportsnet`s Rob Faulds who will host the three events. Sportsnet’s coverage of the 2013 IZOD IndyCar Series begins with the Honda Grand Prix of St. Petersburg on Sunday, March 24 at noon ET/9 a.m. PT on Sportsnet East, Ontario, West and Pacific (full broadcast details below).

The new five-year partnership marks the first multi-year, multiplatform agreement with Sportsnet for IZOD IndyCar Series rights, and also includes the broadcast rights to the Firestone Indy Lights. Additionally, through Sportsnet’s agreement with TVA Sports, the deal also includes expanded French-language coverage across television, online and mobile with a minimum of 16 races per season to be broadcast on TVA Sports.

Below are the key details of Sportsnet’s coverage across online and mobile:

Online and Mobile – RogersAnyPlaceTV.com and Rogers Live app

  • · Rogers Cable customers who subscribe to Sportsnet can live stream Sportsnet’s television coverage of the IZOD IndyCar Series on their computer with RogersAnyplaceTV.com

· Rogers wireless customers will have access to live streaming of Sportsnet’s television coverage of the IZOD IndyCar Series and additional sports content on their smartphones with the Rogers Anyplace TV Live mobile app, available through the Apple App Store, Google Play and BlackBerry App World

  • · Go to sportsnet.ca for stats, schedules, results, driver bios, track info and more
  • · Fans can read pre- and post-race blogs and monthly rankings from Todd Lewis on sportsnet.ca as well as columns form Bill Adam on three race weekends – including the Indy 500 and Honda Indy in Toronto.

Talent Interviews:

All of Sportsnet’s racing talent are available for interviews to discuss the IZOD IndyCar Series

 

2013 IZOD IndyCar Television Broadcast Schedule

 

Honda Grand Prix of St. PetersburgSt. Petersburg, Florida

· Sunday, March 24, Noon ET/9 a.m. PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West and Pacific)

 

Honda Indy Grand Prix of AlabamaBirmingham, Alabama

· Sunday, April 7, 1:30 p.m. ET/10:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE)

 

Toyota Grand Prix of Long BeachLong Beach, California

· Sunday, April 21, 4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario, Pacific and ONE)

 

Sao Paulo Indy 300Sao Paulo, Brazil

· Sunday, May 5, 11 a.m. ET/8 a.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE)

 

Indianapolis 500Indianapolis, Indiana

· Sunday, May 26, 11 a.m. ET/8 a.m. PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West and Pacific)

 

Chevrolet Indy Dual in Detroit – Race 1Detroit, Michigan

· Saturday, June 1, 3:30 p.m. ET/12:30 p.m. PT (City Toronto, Montreal, Winnipeg, Calgary, Edmonton and Vancouver)

 

Chevrolet Indy Dual in Detroit – Race 2Detroit, Michigan

· Sunday, June 2, 3:30 p.m. ET/12:30 p.m. PT (City Toronto, Montreal, Winnipeg, Calgary, Edmonton and Vancouver)

 

Firestone 550Fort Worth, Texas

· Saturday, June 8, 8:30 p.m. ET/5:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West and Pacific)

 

Milwaukee IndyFestWest Allis, Wisconsin

· Saturday, June 15, 4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE)

 

Iowa Corn Indy 250Newton, Iowa

· Sunday, June 23, 2:30 p.m. ET/11:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE)

 

Pocono INDYCAR 400Long Pond, Pennsylvania

· Sunday, July 7, Noon p.m. ET/9 a.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE)

 

Honda Indy Toronto – Race 1Toronto, Ontario

· Saturday, July 13, 3 p.m. ET/Noon PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West and Pacific)

 

Honda Indy Toronto – Race 2Toronto, Ontario

· Sunday, July 14, 3 p.m. ET/Noon PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West and Pacific)

 

Honda Indy 200 at Mid-OhioLexington, Ohio

· Sunday, Aug. 4, 3 p.m. ET/Noon PT (Sportsnet ONE)

 

GoPro Indy Grand Prix of SonomaSonoma, California

· Sunday, Aug. 25, 4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE)

 

Grand Prix of BaltimoreBaltimore, Maryland

· Sunday, Sept. 1, 2 p.m. ET/11 a.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE)

 

Shell & Pennzoil Grand Prix of Houston – Race 1Houston, Texas

· Saturday, Oct. 5, 3 p.m. ET/Noon PT (TBD)

 

Shell & Pennzoil Grand Prix of Houston – Race 2 Houston, Texas

· Sunday, Oct. 6, 1 p.m. ET/10 a.m. PT (TBD)

 

MAVTV 500Fontana, California

· Saturday, Oct. 19, 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE)

 

 

Social Media Links

Official website, Sportsnet www.sportsnet.ca

Like Sportsnet www.Facebook.com/Sportsnet

Follow Rob Faulds @SNFaulds

Follow Paul Tracy @paultracy3

Follow Todd Lewis @ToddLewisSports

Follow Sportsnet @Sportsnet

Follow Sportsnet PR @SportsnetPR 

 

About Sportsnet Sportsnet connects Canadian sports fans to their favourite teams and athletes, using five platforms: TV, Radio, Print, Online and Mobile. Sportsnet is Fuelled By Fans, and delivers storytelling on a local, regional, national and global level. The multiplatform brand consists of Sportsnet, sportsnet.ca, Sportsnet 590 The FAN, Sportsnet 960 The FAN, Sportsnet magazine, Sportsnet Mobile and the Hockey Central app on iPad and Playbook.  Sportsnet is the Canadian leader in NHL and MLB television broadcasts and is home to 162 Toronto Blue Jays games, plus MLB Playoffs and the World Series.  Sportsnet is an official licensed broadcaster of the 2014 FIFA World Cup BrazilTM and also offers an exciting sports lineup including the NFL, the Memorial Cup, Ultimate Fighting Championship®,  Grand Slam of Curling, IndyCar, the Rogers Cup tennis tournament, and extensive soccer programming including Barclays Premier League, UEFA Champions League, UEFA Europa League, MLS Vancouver Whitecaps FC, CONCACAF and Canadian national team matches for men and women.  Connected is the network’s nightly news program, providing regional and national coverage of the day’s events in the world of sports.